No Pakistani in Test, ODI teams of the year


Pakistan may have climbed to the top of the ICC’s Test rankings this year, but none of their players managed to secure a place in the ICC Test Team of the Year 2016 announced on Thursday.

Same is the case in the 50-over format, with Pakistan’s struggles in the one-day game meaning the ICC ODI Team of the Year 2016 has zero representation of the Men in Green.

Former Test stalwarts Rahul Dravid, Gary Kirsten and Kumar Sangakkara selected the two elevens based on player performances during the period from September 14, 2015 to September 20, 2016, according to International Cricket Council (ICC).

England’s Alastair Cook has been named the captain of the ICC Test Team of the Year, which includes four Englishmen, three Australians, and a player each from New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka and South Africa.

This is the third time Cook has been appointed the captain of the Test side, while Dale Steyn has made the cut for the eighth time in nine years. Joe Root, David Warner and Kane Williamson have also been chosen for the third year running.

It has been a case of third time lucky for Virat Kohli who has been named as captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year, which includes three Australians, Indians, South Africans each, and one each from England and West Indies.

AB de Villiers has been selected for the sixth time since 2010, while Starc has been picked up for the third time in four years.

Starc and his teammate Warner are the only two players to have been selected in both the Test and ODI sides in 2016.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2016 (in batting order) is:


  1. David Warner (Australia)
  2. Alastair Cook (England) (captain)
  3. Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
  4. Joe Root (England)
  5. Adam Voges (Australia)
  6. Jonny Bairstow (England) (wicketkeeper)
  7. Ben Stokes (England)
  8. R. Ashwin (India)
  9. Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)
  10. Mitchell Starc (Australia)
  11. Dale Steyn (South Africa)
  12. Steve Smith (Australia)

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2016 (in batting order) is:


  1. David Warner (Australia)
  2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa) (wicketkeeper)
  3. Rohit Sharma (India)
  4. Virat Kohli (India) (captain)
  5. AB de Villiers (South Africa)
  6. Jos Buttler (England)
  7. Mitchell Marsh (Australia)
  8. Ravindra Jadeja (India)
  9. Mitchell Starc (Australia)
  10. Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)
  11. Sunil Narine (West Indies)
  12. Imran Tahir (South Africa)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *